Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Achilles Davenport: “You have no idea what you’re doing. The future of the whole continent, maybe the whole world, is tied up in that Manuscript.”

Shay Cormac: “Perhaps. But we don’t have the right to decide that future.”

Achilles: “The right? We have the responsibility!”

Shay: “We are responsible for killing innocents and destroying cities! This mad grab for power. It ends now.”

Assassin’s Creed: Rogue

“People will forget what you said. People will forget what you did. But people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

“If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.” – 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 (NLT)

I have a confession to make: I am not an empathetic person. I have a hard time putting myself in the shoes of others and feeling what they are feeling. I can come off as cold and disconnected at times. Even why I’m volunteering and helping others throughout my day, I can forget that I’m helping actual people and that it isn’t a project. I’m not exactly sure why: could be my genetics, my upbringing, or the constant flow of disasters that parade themselves across the internet and TV every night.

I’m not the only one with this issue. Multiple studies suggest that this is a generational and societal issue. 75% of college students report that they feel they less empathetic than students in the 1980’s. Another study reports that the nature of the recent election shows that American society is less empathetic than in the past. That study goes on to state that a lack of empathy is causing many of the issues in today’s society.

I agree with them. I believe that the majority of Millennials want to make the world a better place like Achilles and Shae and the rest of the Assassin’s Brotherhood. However, people today act more like Achilles, who become so involved in trying to change the world for the better that they plow through hurting innocent people. (If you are wondering why an Assassin would want to help the innocent and haven’t played the Assassin’s Creed games before, realize that the first tenet of the Assassin’s Creed is to “Stay your blade from the flesh of an innocent” or help those in need.) We concentrate on the large picture of helping society that we forget that society is made up of people.

Paul and Maya Angelou believe that we should approach changing the world in a different way. We should focus on loving others with a selfless love and not worry about changing the world for the better. In unconditionally loving each other and putting the feelings and needs of others first, we will then as Shay states, start a “revolution” that will change America. But, as Shay explains, “[our] redemption is found in ashes – That [we] must burn away the past [actions and habits] to set things right.”

NOTE: I highly recommend playing a different Assassin’s Creed game before playing this one. The game assumes that you have played one of the other 11+ main storyline games in this series for both the gameplay and storyline. I suggest playing Assassin’s Creed II as featured in my first post.

Assassin’s Creed: Rogue
PC, XBox 360, PS3, PS4
Genre: Action, Adventure
Rating: Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
Note: I have only played the PC version.
My Rating: Overall: 4 / 5
Gameplay: 4 / 5 Story: 3 / 5 Graphics and Sound: 5 / 5 Controls: 4 / 5 Christian Values: 4 / 5
