Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Apathy is death!” – Kreia in Knights of the Old Republic 2: The Sith Lords

“Science may have found a cure for most evils; but it has found no remedy for the worst of them all – the apathy of human beings.” – Helen Keller

“So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.” – Revelation 3:16 (NIV)

Three short years ago, I was finishing up my freshman year in college. During that year, a few of the seniors wrote similar words of advice that we read. Josh Calhorn wrote The one article that affected me the most.

Josh said that he saw at HU what I have seen in the past three years: of those that survive not dropping out of HU, there are many more that live a living death: apathy. They go to class, have fun, but do not give a care about the world. Like Helen Keller, I believe that this lack of passion is the worst of all sicknesses: even Jesus throws up at the sight of it. A person without passion has no vision or goals; without goals, a person lives their life aimlessly.

So if you have a passion, I suggest that you pursue it while you are at HU. If you do not, or even if you want to find out more of your passions, I have learned 5 ways of finding out my passions:

  1. Introspection and prayer: This was one of Josh’s suggestions: Look over your life and see what has gotten you excited before and talk to God about those moments.
  2. Read/Watch the News: Another of Josh’s suggestions: What is happening at HU, in Huntington, in Indiana, in the US, or in world that you believe should be changed?
  3. Motivation: What gets you motivated?
  4. Abilities/Talents: Usually a developed talent is a good sign of a hidden passion.
  5. Volunteer/Do new activities: I believe that this is the best method: Volunteer in a new way and you may find out that you have a passion for that. Same thing for trying new activities.
Knights of the Old Republic 2: The Sith Lords
PC, XBox
Genre: Role-Playing Game
Rating: Mature: Blood, Violence
Note: I have only played the PC version.
My Rating: Overall: 4 / 5
Gameplay: 3 / 5 Story: 4 / 5 Graphics and Sound: 5 / 5 Controls: 4 / 5 Christian Values: 4 / 5
